It Must Be Cool Now (My not so new, but suddenly hip, S’well Bottle)

The other day I was standing in line at Starbucks and noticed they were selling a new product. Sitting there on the shelf, as if it had just been designed, was the flashy cool little S’well Bottle. I’ve been using a S’well Bottle for more than three years now. I’m honestly not sure how I first learned about it. Facebook? Email ad? Bike magazine? I dunno. It’s not terribly complicated. A S’well Bottle is just an elegantly-crafted insulated beverage carrier. They claim it keeps your drink hot for a long time or cold for even longer. 

When I first came across it, I remember thinking that it could be perfect for bike commuting. I’m a bit of a coffee addict, and taking my joe to work with me is a must. I’m also a cheap skate, and I refuse to stop and buy a $3 daily jolt. I had already been on the lookout for something like this. I don’t need to have a fancy spill-proof drinkable lid, rubberized grips, logos, etc. I just needed something to carry my coffe that would, ideally, fit into a bike water bottle cage. 

Full-disclosure: somehow I won not one, but two of these little guys. So I own two of them, but didn’t pay for them. But, the good folks that make the S’well Bottle also didn’t ask me to write this or provide me with any incentives.  

  
 Look at any of the pictures of my daily commuter bike and you’ll see the bottle. Fact is, it’s great. I’ve been using it for more than three years. For me it’s the perfect solution. My daily routine is to make the coffee, put it in the bottle, ride to the train station, then drink my morning coffee aboard the train. It stays hot on all but the absolute worst cold days (10 degrees F or colder), never ever leaks, looks good, and is easy to drink out of. It does exactly what they claim it does without any drama. I hate drama. I like coffee. 

  
Perhaps the best part of the design of the S’well Bottle is how seamlessly it slips into a bike bottle cage. It can rattle a bit, depending on your cage, but other than that it’s perfect. 

I can’t speak to the durability of the paint on the colored bottles. Both of the bottles I have are natural stainless steel, and they show almost no wear at all. I suspect the ones that are coated might look a bit beat up after bonking around in a bottle cage every day. But, maybe not!

It’s a bit pricy, at something like $25-$50. But coffee is a high enough priority for me that this is an investment. While I didn’t pay that for one of these, I would. As you can probably tell, coffee is the only thing I’ve put in my S’well Bottle. I assume water works in there too, and maybe even some chilled wine. Hmmmm….maybe a nice little picnic date by bike with my special someone is in order….

These guys now come in a huge array of colors and sizes, and can even be customized and purchased in bulk. Check out the website for all the options, including some nifty accessories. My bottle is the original 17 ounce size and retails for $35.

  
Buy a S’well Bottle if you’re looking for a product like this. And now that you can get it at Starbucks, it’s officially okay to do so. 

Leave a Reply

