Day 2: Indian Flats to Patapsco SP

I knew that this was going to be one of the hottest days from the forecast. What I didn’t truly grasp was how it would affect my body. 

I rolled out about 9:30 in an attempt to beat the heat. Within a 1/2 hour or so I knew this was going to be a tough day. Within an hour I was already questioning whether or not I’d make it. 

But, first a short recap of the night at Indian Flats! I had the hiker biker site all to myself. At about 8:30 pm some pretty intense storms popped up, so I decided not to have a fire and instead retreated to the tent. There wasn’t much rain, so the wind actually was quite nice. I was able to keep the tent uncovered for a while. Monday morning was beautiful, and I enjoyed my oatmeal by the campfire. 
So, once I packed up, I was off the C&O Towpath and onto the very rolling hills of Maryland. I always underestimate both the beauty and the hilly terrain of this part of the country.

It was really really hot. I was taking on lots of fluids, and at the 25 mile point I stopped for lunch at Subway. I took a very long break, cooling in the AC, and refilled my bottles.

The next stretch was brutal. I had 20 miles to ride on Frederick Road. There were something like 10 tough climbs, it was a busy road, and it was the hottest part of the day. I took many breaks, but was absolutely crawling. At one point I took a break and laid down by the side of the road. A lovely lady saw me, drove up the 7-11, and brought me an ice cold liter of water and a Gatorade. Amazing! 


It was at this point that I realized I only had 4 miles left to go! Not so fast. Note to self: always…ALWAYS double check GPS directions to campgrounds. The route took me up insanely steep roads (15% or more) until eventually there was NO road, but a rocky trail. It was barely walkable, but I was too far in, and anticipated it being the back entrance to the campground. Sure enough. Eventually I made it and set up camp. 


I laid down for a bit, drank as much water as possible, and set up my tent and such. I wasn’t hungry at all, and within a few minutes was vomiting. So long Subway! Gatorade no more! I tried sipping water but it was no use. All I wanted to do was sleep. So, I just gave up, figuring that my body was trying to tell me what it needed, and by 7:30 I was in my tent dozing off.

That was certainly not my best night of sleep, but I was horizontal for almost 12 hours. I woke up feeling a bit weak, but my stomach was better. I knew I needed calories and salt, so my breakfast consisted of one of my dehydrated meals for dinner (oh the irony). I don’t always eat beef stroganoff for breakfast, but when I do, it’s to load up on calories and sodium.

Day 2: Indian Flats to Patapsco SP. 50 miles.

~rm

One thought on “Day 2: Indian Flats to Patapsco SP

  1. oh dear! Frederick, MD is where I go for the most challenging GF in our area,,, those are not climbs those are kickers!!!
    for hydration find Scratch Lab. it’s all natural. no gatorade… ever… 🙂

Leave a Reply

